News Releases

Hutchinson Researcher Elected to National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences announced April 28 at its 135th annual meeting the election of Robert Eisenman, Ph.D., of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, to membership in the prestigious organization. Eisenman, a member of the Center's Basic Sciences Division, was among 60 new members and 15 foreign associates from 10 countries recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Eisenman has been a member of the Center's faculty since 1976 and has made substantial contributions to the understanding of oncogenes, genes that normally regulate the differentiation and proliferation, or growth, of cells. Malfunctioning, or mutated, oncogenes often lead to the transformation of normal cells into cancer.

Election to membership in the NAS is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer. Those elected last week bring the total number of current active members to 1,798.

Other NAS members from the Hutchinson Center include Center president and director Lee Hartwell, Ph.D; E. Donnall Thomas, M.D., director emeritus of the Center's Clinical Research Division and Nobel laureate; and the late Hal Weintraub, M.D., Ph.D., a founding member of the Center's Basic Sciences Division who passed away three years ago.

The NAS is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare. The Academy was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by Abraham Lincoln. The Academy acts as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology.

Editor's note: A black and white photo of Eisenman is available upon request.

# # #

CONTACT: Kristen Woodward
(206) 667-5095

May 1, 1998

Subscribe to RSS

RSS feeds are best viewed in browsers other than Chrome



There are no tags on this page. A list of tags will appear here once there are.