Atlanta Braves' Tim Hudson wins Hutch Award

Three-time All-Star will receive honor Jan. 26 at Hutch Award Luncheon
Tim Hudson
Hutch Award winner Tim Hudson and his wife created the Hudson Family Foundation to help ease the financial burdens of critical illnesses. “We know that we are here to serve others,” Hudson said. Photo courtesy Atlanta Braves

Tim Hudson, an All-Star starting pitcher for the Atlanta Braves, will receive the 46th annual Hutch Award on Jan. 26 at the Hutch Award Luncheon at Safeco Field. The award goes to a player who best exemplifies the honor, courage and dedication of legendary player and manager Fred Hutchinson, both on and off the field.

‘Here to serve others’

Hudson said he is honored to win the Hutch Award and is looking forward to his upcoming visit to the Hutchinson Center and Hutch School.  

“My wife, Kim, and I have seen firsthand the devastation that a cancer diagnosis can have on a family,” Hudson said. “We intend to do all that we can to help to find a cure."

Through the Hudson Family Foundation, Hudson and his wife help families ease the financial burdens of critical illnesses. They support the Make-A-Wish Foundation and partner with The Moyer Foundation—founded by major league pitcher Jamie Moyer and his wife, Karen—to expand the reach of Camp Erin, a bereavement camp for children who have experienced the death of a loved one.

“We are so thankful to have been placed in a position to be able to help children and families in need,” Hudson said. “We know that we are here to serve others.”

Hudson’s career highlights include:

  • Made major league debut with the Oakland Athletics in 1999
  • Won 20 games for Oakland in 2000
  • Named All-Star in 2000, 2004, 2010
  • Joined Braves in 2005
  • Awarded 2010 Comeback Player of the Year after recovering from “Tommy John” elbow surgery
  • Won 17 games in 2010, helping the Braves make the National League playoffs

Each year, all living former Hutch Award winners vote to select the next recipient. Forty-five players have received the honor since Mickey Mantle accepted the inaugural award in 1965, including baseball Hall of Famers Sandy Koufax, Carl Yastrzemski, Willie McCovey, and Lou Brock. In recent years Jamie Moyer, Craig Biggio, Mike Sweeney, Jon Lester, and Mark Teahen joined their ranks.

Joe Morgan will speak at Jan. 26 luncheon

The Jan. 26 Hutch Award Luncheon will raise funds for early cancer detection research at the Center. Broadcast analyst and baseball Hall of Famer Joe Morgan will be the keynote speaker. For more information or to register for the luncheon, visit

Help Us Eliminate Cancer

Every dollar counts. Please support lifesaving research today.