Lee Hartwell to receive AACI scientific achievement award

Hutch News

Lee Hartwell to receive AACI scientific achievement award

Oct. 6, 2005

The Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI) will honor Dr. Lee Hartwell, Center president and director, with the 2005 Distinguished Scientist Award during the combined 2005 AACI Annual Meeting and Cancer Center Administrators Forum, Fall 2005 Meeting, Oct. 16 to 18, near Washington, D.C.

Sen. Dianne Feinstein, California, chair of the Senate Cancer Coalition, and Rep. Deborah Pryce, Ohio, co-chair of the House Cancer Caucus, will receive the 2005 AACI Public Service Award.

Each year the AACI honors a distinguished scientist for his or her outstanding contributions to cancer research. The public service award recognizes dedication to advancing cancer research and support of programs that ease the burden of cancer on patients, caregivers and communities.

"This award acknowledges his [Hartwell's] extraordinary scientific accomplishments as well as his contributions to the cancer center and cancer research communities," said Dr. Harold L. Moses, AACI president.

AACI is an association of the nation's leading academic and freestanding cancer centers. AACI promotes the common interests of cancer centers that are focused on the eradication of cancer through a comprehensive and multidisciplinary program of cancer research, treatment, patient care, prevention, education and community outreach.

To learn more about the association, visit www.aaci-cancer.org.

(RSS feeds are best viewed in browsers other than Chrome)

Editor's Picks


Support our quest for cures

Story Archive


Magazine Archive
Back issues of Hutch Magazine

Financial Reporting
Fiscal highlights & Annual Reports

Science Spotlight
Monthly review of Center-authored papers

Fred Hutch News

        Get updates via email.