Hutch Award’s next major league contenders

Hall-of-Famer Cal Ripken Jr. will keynote award luncheon at Safeco Field Feb. 1

Ten Major League Baseball players are up for the 47th annual Hutch Award®. Of the finalists, who were nominated by a national committee, one will go on to receive the award at a fundraising luncheon at Safeco Field in February.

Baseball Hall-of-Famer Cal Ripken Jr. will give the keynote address at the Hutch Award Luncheon on Feb. 1, 2012. Proceeds will benefit the Center’s Gregory Fund® for early cancer detection research.

This year’s Hutch Award nominees are:

  • Billy Butler, Kansas City Royals
  • Tony Campana, Chicago Cubs
  • Michael Cuddyer, Minnesota Twins
  • Curtis Granderson, New York Yankees
  • Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
  • Torii Hunter, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
  • Justin Masterson, Cleveland Indians
  • Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves
  • Jake Peavy, Chicago White Sox
  • Josh Willingham, Oakland Athletics

The Hutch Award recipient will be chosen this fall through a vote of all surviving former awardees. A total of 46 players have been honored since 1965, when Mickey Mantle accepted the inaugural award. Baseball Hall-of-Famers Sandy Koufax, Carl Yastrzemski, Willie McCovey and Lou Brock all received the Hutch Award; in more recent years Jamie Moyer, Trevor Hoffman, Craig Biggio, Jon Lester and Tim Hudson joined their ranks.

The Hutch Award is given annually to a Major League Baseball player who best exemplifies the honor, courage and dedication of legendary baseball player and manager—and our namesake—Fred Hutchinson. For more information about the Hutch Award or to register to attend the luncheon, visit

Help Us Eliminate Cancer

Every dollar counts. Please support lifesaving research today.