Ten major leaguers up for Hutch Award

Awardee to be honored at Jan. 26 luncheon

SEATTLE – Sept. 27, 2010 –  Ten distinguished Major League Baseball players are in the running for the 46th annual Hutch Award®. A national committee has just released a list of 10 finalists, one of whom will go on to receive the award and visit the award host organization, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, in January 2011.

The nominees for the 46th annual Hutch Award are:

  • Jeremy Affeldt, San Francisco Giants
  • Craig Breslow, Oakland Athletics
  • Michael Cuddyer, Minnesota Twins
  • Tim Hudson, Atlanta Braves
  • Torii Hunter, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
  • Mike Lowell, Boston Red Sox
  • Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals
  • Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds
  • Vernon Wells, Toronto Blue Jays
  • Josh Willingham, Washington Nationals

The Hutch Award recipient will be selected in November through a vote of all surviving former awardees. A total of 45 players have been honored since 1965, when Mickey Mantle accepted the inaugural award. Baseball Hall-of-Famers Sandy Koufax, Carl Yastrzemski, Willie McCovey and Lou Brock all received the Hutch Award; in more recent years Jamie Moyer, Craig Biggio, Jon Lester and Mark Teahen have joined their ranks.

The Hutch Award is given annually to the major league player who best exemplifies the honor, courage and dedication of legendary baseball player and manager Fred Hutchinson. Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center – founded by Fred’s brother, Dr. Bill Hutchinson, after Fred succumbed to cancer at age 45 – is an independent, nonprofit research institution dedicated to the understanding, treatment and prevention of cancer and related diseases.

The award is presented each January in Seattle, hometown of the Hutchinson brothers and the site of the renowned cancer center that bears Fred’s name. The 46th annual Hutch Award will be presented at a fundraising luncheon on Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2011 at Safeco Field in Seattle. Proceeds will benefit early cancer detection research at the Hutchinson Center.

For more information about the Hutch Award, including a full list of past recipients, or to learn more about the luncheon, visit www.fhcrc.org/hutchaward.