Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award

The Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award recognizes outstanding achievment during graduate studies in the biological sciences.

Fred Hutch established this annual award to honor the bold, creative, pioneering spirit embodied by Hal Weintraub. Weintraub also earned deep respect and admiration as a caring mentor and supportive colleague.

Nominations are accepted annually between October 1 and December 15.

Follow Us

Weintraub Graduate Student Award

Awardees will participate in a scientific symposium honoring Weintraub and his commitment to innovative science. The award symposium will take place May 7, 2021, at Fred Hutch's Robert W. Day Campus. The symposium will consist of scientific presentations by the graduate student awardees and informal gatherings of students and faculty.  

A committee consisting of Fred Hutch faculty and students will select up to twelve awardees from the nominations on the basis of quality, originality, and scientific significance, as well as to represent a diverse range of research topics. Expenses will be covered by The Fred Hutch Weintraub and Groudine Fund, established to foster intellectual exchange through the promotion of programs for graduate students, fellows and visiting scholars.

* Due to the COVID19 pandemic, 2021 Weintraub Awardees will be chosen, but there will not be an accompanying Symposium in May 2021.

Submit your Nomination

Only one nomination may be submitted per department or program.

Since the awardees will present their thesis work at the Weintraub Symposium, we envision them as advanced students near the completion of their studies. Ideally, students should not have completed their thesis before September 2020.  However, due to differences in research topics and programs, the most qualified students may have already completed their thesis.

Information needed before submission for all applicants:

  • Nominator name, address, email, and telephone number
  • Mentor name, address, email, and telephone number
  • Student nominee name, address, email, and telephone number

Information needed from student's mentor:

  • Letter of recommendation, formatted as a PDF file
    (Please use single spacing, Arial font or similar, and 11pt minimum font size.)

Information needed from student:

  • Student Curriculum Vitae, using template provided (saved as a PDF): Text | MS Word | RTF
  • Summary of thesis research, using template provided (saved as a PDF): Text | MS Word | RTF

The Selection Committee will notify all nominees about their status by February 28, 2021.

Please address questions regarding this award or the symposium to Susan Parkhurst.

Deadline for 2021 nominations is Dec 15, 2020.

Join our Mailing List

We have created an e-mail list to keep you up-to-date on the latest about the Weintraub Award. All announcements are made via this list.  Subscribers will receive a call for nomination in October and an announcement of the award recipients in March.

To unsubscribe from the list, send a blank e-mail to weintraubaward-unsubscribe@lists.fhcrc.org from the e-mail address you want to unsubscribe. You will receive an autoresponder with further instructions for leaving the list. If you need help managing your subscription or un-subscription, contact weintraubaward-owner@lists.fhcrc.org.

Current Weintraub Award Winners

2020 Weintraub Award Winners
2020 Weintraub Award Winners

Adrian Baez-Ortega, Univ. of Cambridge

Lou Beaulieu-Laroche, MIT

Andrew Butler, New York Univ.

Victoria Deneke, Duke

James Eaglesham, Harvard

Nandan Gokhale, Duke

Rose Hill, UC, Berkeley

Rebecca Moore, Princeton

Paul Muller, Rockefeller

Anete Romanauska, Med Univ. Vienna

Akanksha Thawani, Princeton

Christopher Zimmerman, UCSF

Past Four Years of Weintraub Award Winners


WGSA 2019 Awardees

2019 Recepients

William Allen, Stanford University . Adair Borges, University of California, San Francisco . Ava Carter, Stanford School of Medicine . Yiming Chen, University of California, San Francisco . Adam Dingens, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center . Kiara Eldred, Johns Hopkins University . Courtney Ellison, Indiana University . Bramwell Lambrus, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine . Daniel Montoro, Harvard Medical School . Sofia Quinodoz, California Institute of Technology . Alexandra Walls, University of Washington . Greg Wyant, Massachusetts Institute of Technology . Stephen Zhang, Harvard Medical School

2018 Weintraub Award Winners

2018 Recipients

Nicholas Bodnar, Harvard Medical School • James Byers, Stanford University • Lillian Cohn, The Rockefeller University • Eric Dang, University of California, San Francisco • Fahim Farzadfard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology • Danielle Grotjahn, Scripps Research Institute • Kamena Kostova, University of California, San Francisco • Adam Larson, University of California, San Francisco • Jackson Liang, Stanford University • Claudio Morales-Pérez, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center • Annika Nichols, Institute of Molecular Pathology, Vienna • Niladri Sinha, University of Utah • Katherine Xue, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

2017 Weintraub Award Winners

2017 Recipients
Thomas Bartlett, Princeton University • Lynne Chantranupong, Massachusetts Institute of Technology • Raphael Cohn, The Rockefeller University • Kelsie Eichel, University of California, San Francisco • Qing Feng, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Cent • Isha Jain, Massachusetts Institute of Technology • Daniel Lin, California Institute of Technology • Lucy Liu, Baylor College of Medicine • Siew Cheng Phua, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine • Dheeraj Roy, Massachusetts Institute of Technology • Sukrit Silas, Stanford University • Christoph Thaiss, Weizmann Institute • Candice Yip, Harvard Medical School

2016 Weintraub Award Winners

2016 Recipients
Corina Antal, University of California, San Diego • Ryan Flynn, Stanford University • Alexander Gitlin, The Rockefeller University • Wenyan Jiang, The Rockefeller University • Emily Maclary, University of Michigan • Kara McKinley, Massachusetts Institute of Technology • James Nunez, University of California, Berkeley • Deepshika Ramanan, Sackler Institute of Graduate Biomedical Sciences • Matthew Snyder, University of Washington • Trevor Sorrells, University of California, San Francisco • Tim Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology • Kevin Yackle, Stanford University

For a list of previous awardees 2001-2015