Fred Hutch researcher Rainer Storb named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Storb noted for his contributions to the field of bone marrow transplantation
Rainer Storb
Rainer Storb named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Fred Hutch News Service

SEATTLE – Nov. 26, 2014 – Rainer Storb, M.D., head of the Transplant Biology Program at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

Storb, a founding member of Fred Hutch, was elected as an AAAS Fellow for distinguished contributions to the field of bone marrow transplantation, which was pioneered at Fred Hutch by Storb’s longtime colleague, the late Nobel laureate E. Donnall Thomas, M.D.

Storb is a world leader in the development of more effective, less toxic approaches to blood stem-cell transplantation for the treatment of cancers such as leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma and myelodysplasia as well as other diseases. In particular, AAAS noted Storb’s work in the development of preclinical systems to improve treatment regimens and understand hematological diseases.

Storb’s many honors include the Josef Steiner Award, the Gustav Carus Prize of the German Academy of Natural Sciences, the Meyenburg Prize, both the Henry M. Stratton Medal and the E. Donnall Thomas Lecture from the American Society of Hematology, the Don Metcalf Lecture Award from the International Society of Experimental Hematology, the Joseph H. Burchenal Clinical Research Award from the American Association for Cancer Research and an award from the prestigious Jacqueline Seroussi Memorial Foundation for Cancer Research in Israel.

Other AAAS Fellows at Fred Hutch include: Roger Brent, Ph.D.; Nobel laureate Linda Buck, Ph.D.; Robert Eisenman, Ph.D.; Mark T. Groudine, M.D., Ph.D.; Maxine L. Linial, Ph.D.; Paul Neiman, Ph.D.; and Gerald Smith, Ph.D., all of the Basic Sciences Division.

Others include Denise Galloway, Ph.D., of the Human Biology and Public Health Sciences divisions; M. Elizabeth Halloran, M.D., M.P.H., of the Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division; John Potter, M.D., Ph.D., former head of the Public Health Sciences Division; and Meng-Chao Yao, Ph.D., formerly of the Basic Sciences Division who is now head of the Institute of Molecular Biology, Academia Sinica, in Taipei, Taiwan.

This year 401 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Feb. 14 during the 2015 AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, California.

Editor’s note: A photo of Storb is available upon request.

# # #

At Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, home to three Nobel laureates, interdisciplinary teams of world-renowned scientists seek new and innovative ways to prevent, diagnose and treat cancer, HIV/AIDS and other life-threatening diseases. Fred Hutch’s pioneering work in bone marrow transplantation led to the development of immunotherapy, which harnesses the power of the immune system to treat cancer with minimal side effects. An independent, nonprofit research institute based in Seattle, Fred Hutch houses the nation’s first and largest cancer prevention research program, as well as the clinical coordinating center of the Women’s Health Initiative and the international headquarters of the HIV Vaccine Trials Network. Private contributions are essential for enabling Fred Hutch scientists to explore novel research opportunities that lead to important medical breakthroughs. For more information or follow Fred Hutch on FacebookTwitter or YouTube.

Michael Nank