10 baseball players nominated for 50th annual Hutch Award

Award to be given at Jan. 29 luncheon at Safeco Field in Seattle
Felix Hernandex
10 baseball players nominated for 50th annual Hutch Award Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

SEATTLE – Oct. 3, 2014 – Legendary Major League Baseball player and manager Fred Hutchinson died of cancer in 1964, but his bravery and commitment live on through an annual award given in his honor.

Ten Major League Baseball players have been nominated for the 50th annual Hutch Award, to be given Jan. 29 at Safeco Field in Seattle. The award, launched a year after Hutchinson’s death by three of his friends, is presented annually at the Hutch Award Luncheon which raises funds for cancer research at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

This year’s nominees are:

  • John Danks, Chicago White Sox
  • Yovani Gallardo, Milwaukee Brewers
  • Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
  • Josh Harrison, Pittsburgh Pirates
  • Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners
  • Dan Jennings, Miami Marlins
  • Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins
  • Devin Mesoraco, Cincinnati Reds
  • Roberto Perez, Cleveland Indians
  • Sergio Romo, San Francisco Giants

The Hutch Award is given to a Major League Baseball player who demonstrates the honor, courage, and dedication that Fred Hutchinson exemplified. The recipient is often someone who has overcome challenges in his personal or professional life.

The award is presented each January in Seattle, Hutch’s hometown and the location of the research center named after him and started by his brother. Major League teams submit nominations for the award and the winner is selected through a vote among past recipients.

New York Yankees legend Mickey Mantle received the inaugural award in 1965, and last year’s award went to former Seattle Mariner Raúl Ibañez. Other recipients in recent years include Barry Zito (San Francisco Giants), Craig Biggio (Houston Astros), and cancer survivor Jon Lester (Boston Red Sox).

Lester, who was diagnosed in 2006 with anaplastic large cell lymphoma, is the award’s only winner to be treated for cancer by a doctor from the Hutch. He returned to the Red Sox in 2007 and helped the team win the World Series.

Hutch Award winners have included 11 Major League Baseball Hall of Fame inductees, 11 League Most Valuable Player winners and seven World Series MVPs.

Seattle surgeon William Hutchinson, Fred’s brother, founded Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center after Fred’s death at age 45, less than a year after he was diagnosed. The independent, nonprofit center works to improve the prevention, detection, and treatment of cancer and related diseases.

Additional information about the Hutch Award, including a full list of recipients, is available here.

# # #

At Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, home to three Nobel laureates, interdisciplinary teams of world-renowned scientists seek new and innovative ways to prevent, diagnose and treat cancer, HIV/AIDS, and other life-threatening diseases. Fred Hutch’s pioneering work in bone marrow transplantation led to the development of immunotherapy, which harnesses the power of the immune system to treat cancer with minimal side effects. An independent, nonprofit research institute based in Seattle, Fred Hutch houses the nation’s first and largest cancer prevention research program, as well as the clinical coordinating center of the Women’s Health Initiative and the international headquarters of the HIV Vaccine Trials Network. Private contributions are essential for enabling Fred Hutch scientists to explore novel research opportunities that lead to important medical breakthroughs. For more information visit www.fredhutch.org or follow Fred Hutch on Facebook, Twitter, or YouTube.


Michael Nank