News Releases

10 baseball players nominated for 49th annual Hutch Award - Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Award to be given at Jan. 30 luncheon at Safeco Field in Seattle
Hutch Award logo

SEATTLE – Oct. 15, 2013 – Legendary Major League Baseball player and manager Fred Hutchinson died of cancer in 1964, but his bravery and commitment live on through an annual award given in his honor.

Ten Major League Baseball players have been nominated for the 49th annual Hutch Award, to be given on Jan. 30 at Safeco Field in Seattle. The award, launched a year after Hutchinson’s death by three of his friends, is presented annually at the Hutch Award Luncheon which raises funds for cancer research at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.

This year’s nominees are:

  • Jeremy Affeldt, San Francisco Giants
  • Craig Breslow, Boston Red Sox
  • Neal Cotts, Texas Rangers
  • John Danks, Chicago White Sox
  • Sean Doolittle, Oakland Athletics
  • Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
  • Raul Ibanez, Seattle Mariners
  • Scott Kazmir, Cleveland Indians
  • Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
  • Jason Motte, St. Louis Cardinals

The Hutch Award is given to a Major League Baseball player who demonstrates the honor, courage and dedication that Fred Hutchinson exemplified. The recipient is often someone who has overcome challenges in his personal or professional life.

The award is presented each January in Seattle, Hutch’s hometown and the location of the research center named after him and started by his brother. Major League teams submit nominations for the award and the winner is selected through a vote among past recipients.

New York Yankees legend Mickey Mantle received the inaugural award in 1965, and last year’s award went to San Francisco Giants pitcher Barry Zito. Other recipients in recent years include Tim Hudson (Atlanta Braves), Jamie Moyer (Seattle Mariners), Craig Biggio (Houston Astros) and cancer survivor Jon Lester (Boston Red Sox).

Lester, who was diagnosed in 2006 with anaplastic large cell lymphoma, is the award’s only winner to be treated for cancer by a doctor from the Hutch. He returned to the Red Sox in 2007 and helped the team win the World Series.

Hutch Award winners have included 11 Major League Baseball Hall of Fame inductees, 11 League Most Valuable Player winners and seven World Series MVPs.

Seattle surgeon William Hutchinson, Fred’s brother, founded Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center after Fred’s death at age 45, less than a year after he was diagnosed. The independent, nonprofit center works to improve the prevention, detection and treatment of cancer and related diseases.

Additional information about the Hutch Award, including a full list of recipients, is available here.