Fred Hutch, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, and UW Medicine Complete Restructure of Partnership

Learn More
News Releases

Astros 'Killer B' Craig Biggio Receives 2005 Hutch Award

SEATTLE — Feb. 1, 2006 — The Houston Astros' Craig Biggio, the only baseball player ever to be named an All-Star both as catcher and second baseman, was honored Feb. 1 at Safeco Field as winner of the prestigious Hutch Award. Johnny Bench, the legendary baseball player named "Catcher of the Century," served as keynote speaker.

Rick Hutchinson, son of the late baseball legend Fred Hutchinson, presented the award as 1,000 baseball fans and fellow players gave Biggio a standing ovation. "The Hutch Award is not only about baseball, it's about one brother's love for another," Biggio said, referring to Fred's brother Bill, a prominent Seattle surgeon, who founded the Hutchinson Center after Fred died of cancer at age 45. "I will truly treasure this day; I'm so proud to be the winner of the 2005 Hutch Award," he said.

Biggio is renowned as a Houston Astros "Killer B" along with teammates Jeff Bagwell and Lance Berkman. He was drafted by the Astros in the first round in 1987. He became the Astros' starting catcher and made the All-Star team in 1991. At spring training in 1992 Biggio was persuaded to try second base; that very year he again made the All-Star team.

Biggio, who led the Majors in runs scored in 1995 and 1997 and doubles in 1994, 1998 and 1999, is at the top of the Astros' career list in games played, at-bats, runs scored, hits and doubles. In 2005, he helped Houston clinch the National League Championship and reach the World Series for the first time in team history. He was inducted into the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame in 2004 and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame last year.

Biggio and his wife, Patty, are active in The Sunshine Kids, a support organization for children with cancer and their families.

General Motors Corporation is the presenting sponsor of the Hutch Award Luncheon. Funds raised through the Hutch Award Luncheon go to Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center's Gregory Fund for early cancer-detection research.

Past Hutch Award winners include Jamie Moyer, Trevor Hoffman, Mickey Mantle, Sandy Koufax, Carl Yastremski, and Bench. The award was established in 1965 and is given annually to a major-league baseball player who best exemplifies the fighting spirit and competitive desire of baseball great Fred Hutchinson.


Media Contacts

Christi Ball Loso
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
(206) 667-5215

# # #

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
At Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, our interdisciplinary teams of world-renowned scientists and humanitarians work together to prevent, diagnose and treat cancer, HIV/AIDS and other diseases. Our researchers, including three Nobel laureates, bring a relentless pursuit and passion for health, knowledge and hope to their work and to the world. For more information, please visit