McDougall Mentoring Award

Student/Postdoc Advisory Committee

McDougall Mentoring Award

Jim McDougall was a faculty member at the Fred Hutch from 1978-2003. He was highly regarded for his dedication to and excellent mentorship of the people in his lab. In honor of his memory, SPAC sponsors the annual McDougall Mentoring Award, which celebrates faculty members who demonstrate a similar dedication to and enthusiasm for mentoring their graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and/or medical fellows. The award recipient will be announced at the Annual SPAC Holiday Party in December.

Application forms are due to Karen Peterson at by October 1, 2018.

Nominations will be considered active and placed under annual consideration by the selection committee for up to 3 years after submission.

Faculty Awardees

2017  Dr. Paul Lampe
2016  Dr. Adam Geballe
2015  Dr. Stephen Tapscott
2014  Dr. Polly Newcomb
2013  Dr. Sue Biggins
2012  Dr. Michael Emerman
2011  Dr. Anne McTiernan
2010  Dr. Andrea LaCroix
2009  Dr. Johanna Lampe
2008  Dr. Julie Overbaugh
2007  Dr. David Fredricks

Nomination criteria

The nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Has been a faculty member at the FHCRC for at least three years
  • Their primary faculty appointment is at the FHCRC
  • Currently has at least one graduate student, postdoctoral fellow, or medical fellow in his/her lab or work group

Criteria to consider in your application include mentoring in the following areas:       

  • Research skill development
  • Data analysis and interpretation
  • Critical thinking and hypothesis generation skills
  • Collaborative science
  • Choosing a career
  • Job search including networking
  • Poster and oral presentations
  • Writing skills
  • Teaching skills
  • Responsible conduct of research
  • Leadership and management skills
  • Sensitivity to diversity issues
  • The “human-side” of mentoring--how the mentor exemplifies living life as a scientist and a citizen