ODEI Advisory Boards

Leading Our Efforts

While the Fred Hutch's President & Director and Chief Operating Officer are leading and shepherding the Hutch’s long-term commitment to diversity and inclusion, it is the responsibility of every employee to ensure that we have an inclusive campus that welcomes individuals and communities from every background. 

We have an Executive Steering CommitteeFaculty Committee and Advisory Committee guiding and advising our efforts.

Executive Steering Committee

The Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Steering Committee oversees and guides the strategic and operational activities of the Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (ODEI).  It is responsible for ensuring the ODEI ‘s integration and coordination of a holistic diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan that encompasses scientific and faculty-oriented elements and administrative and staff-oriented elements and that the ODEI will promotes the communication and coordination of its activities, programs and initiatives among multiple institutional stakeholders.  

Sue Biggins, Ph.D.

Sue Biggins, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President & Director, Basic Sciences Division
Elizabeth Boyd, Ph.D.

Elizabeth Boyd, Ph.D.

Vice President, Research Administration & Faculty Affairs
Paul Buckley, Ph.D.

Paul Buckley, Ph.D.

Vice President, Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer
Jodi Burke

Jodi Burke

Associate Vice President, Human Resources
Bruce Clurman, Ph.D.

Bruce Clurman, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President and Deputy Director
Chris Li, M.D., Ph.D.

Chris Li, M.D., Ph.D.

Faculty Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Julie Overbaugh, Ph.D.

Julie Overbaugh, Ph.D.

Director, Office of Education and Training
Steve Stadum, J.D.

Steve Stadum, J.D.

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Mari Schwab

Mari Schwab

Associate General Counsel, Employment

Faculty Committee

At Fred Hutch, we are striving to have our scientists and overall workforce better represent national demographics. We are on a journey to elevate inclusion so that we have a Center that boasts high retention and employee engagement. Faculty members of Fred Hutch are deeply invested and committed to supporting diversity, equity and inclusion. They recognize that diversity and inclusion will support the recruitment and retention of the world’s best talent- and most importantly, diversity and inclusion is essential to innovation. The Faculty Committee on Diversity & Inclusion is comprised of both senior and junior faculty members who represent each of the scientific divisions at Fred Hutch.  

Advisory Committee

The ODEI Advisory Committee is responsible for advising the ODEI on engagement strategy, assisting the ODEI in coordinating and synergizing the efforts, activities and initiatives of the ODEI across the institution, and enabling institutional stakeholders to jointly pursue opportunities to advance diversity, equity and inclusion at the institution. In addition, the DEI Advisory Committee will discharge such other duties or responsibilities as may be delegated to the ODEI Advisory Committee by the ODEI Executive Steering Committee.

Kathy Briant

Program Administrator, Office of Community Outreach and Engagement

Andrea Brocato

Program Operations Director, Office of Graduate Education, Research Administration

Dr. Jeanne Chowning

Sr. Director, Science & Education Training

Hunter Colgrove

Research Technician, McElrath Lab, Vaccine and Infectious Diseases

Dr. Jay Mendoza

Director, Office of Community Outreach and Engagement
Associate Director, Community Outreach and Engagement, Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium

Mark Mendoza

Research Technician, Kiem Lab, Clinical Research Division

Bhavesha O'Byrne

Manager, Clinical Data Management, Statistical Center for HIV/AIDS Research and Prevention (SCHARP)

Amy Packard

Talent Acquisition & Employee Services Director, Human Resources
Raquel Sanchez

Raquel Sanchez

Managing Director, Global Oncology

Darlene Vereene

IT Program Manager, Project Management Office

Michael Villanueva

Associate Director, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

Dr. Stephaun Wallace

Director External Relations, HIV Vaccine Trial Network
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Global Health, University of Washington

Alison Williams

Postdoctoral Fellow, Olson Lab, Clinical Research Division

Lauren Wolfe

Research Data Specialist, Community and Partnerships