Ten finalists vie for 2007 Hutch Award

Hutch News

Ten finalists vie for 2007 Hutch Award

Nov. 1, 2007

Ten major-league baseball players are in the running for the 2007 Hutch Award® to be presented at the annual luncheon Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2008, at Safeco Field. The Hutch Award goes annually to the major-league player who best exemplifies the fighting spirit and competitive desire of Fred Hutchinson. The finalists, selected by a national committee of baseball and media representatives, are:

  • Paul Byrd, Cleveland Indians
  • Matt Holliday, Colorado Rockies
  • Orlando Hudson, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Raul Ibanez, Seattle Mariners
  • David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox
  • Russ Ortiz, San Francisco Giants
  • Johan Santana, Minnesota Twins
  • Mike Sweeney, Kansas City Royals
  • Nick Swisher, Oakland Athletics
  • Woody Williams, Houston Astros

The Hutch Award recipient will be selected in mid-November through a vote of all surviving former awardees. Through the years, 42 players have been honored. Mickey Mantle accepted the first award in 1965, the year after baseball great Fred Hutchinson succumbed to cancer at age 45. Winners in recent years include Jamie Moyer, Trevor Hoffman, Craig Biggio and Mark Loretta.

No tags to display. Taglist will not be shown.

(RSS feeds are best viewed in browsers other than Chrome)

Editor's Picks


Support our quest for cures

Story Archive


Magazine Archive
Back issues of Hutch Magazine

Financial Reporting
Fiscal highlights & Annual Reports

Science Spotlight
Monthly review of Center-authored papers

Fred Hutch News

        Get updates via email.