Center News

National Academy of Sciences elects Mark Groudine as member

May 3, 2001

Dr. Mark Groudine, director of the Basic Sciences Division and professor of radiation oncology at the University of Washington, was one of 72 scientists elected to the National Academy of Sciences Tuesday.

Membership is accorded those with distinguished, continuing achievements in original research. Election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors for a U.S. scientist or engineer.

Other academy members at the Hutch are Drs. Lee Hartwell, Center president and director; E. Donnall Thomas, director emeritus of the Clinical Research Division; and Bob Eisenman, Basic Sciences Division.

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center is a world leader in research to prevent, detect and treat cancer and other life-threatening diseases.