Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division

Infectious Disease Sciences

Infectious Disease Sciences (IDS) is a research program within the Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division. IDS patient care services and research projects aim to advance knowledge of host-pathogen interactions and develop innovative management strategies for infectious diseases that cause significant morbidity and mortality both in immunocompetent and immunocompromised populations, specifically those relating to cancer, HIV, and organ and stem cell transplantation.

Major areas of research include:

  • Herpesvirus infections
  • Interactions between HSV and HIV
  • Fungal infections
  • Bacterial infections
  • Cytomegalovirus (CMV)
  • Infection-related cancers
  • HIV transmission and pathogenesis
  • Epidemiology of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT)-related infections
  • HSV vaccines
  • Microbiome
  • Other infectious disease-related research

IDS was formed in 1996 as a program in the Clinical Research Division, and became one of the main disciplines of VIDD in 2007. The IDS faculty includes scientists with diverse clinical and research backgrounds, many of whom have joint appointments with UW Medicine and the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance (SCCA). Other members of IDS include colleagues from a variety of University of Washington departments, including the Virology Division, Department of Laboratory Medicine, and the Department of Medicine, Allergy and Infectious Diseases Division. The importance of the relationship and synergy with UW Medicine and SCCA is exemplified by the Infectious Disease Consult Service and UW Virology.

The program is led by Dr. Michael Boeckh, who is a member of the Clinical Research Division as well as VIDD and holds a position on the VIDD Executive Committee. He is also a Professor of Medicine within the Division of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine at University of Washington.

Infectious Disease Sciences Faculty

Michael J. Boeckh, MD
Profile | Lab



Larry Corey, MD
Profile | Lab



David N. Fredericks, MD
Profile | Lab



Anna Wald, MD, MPH
Profile | UW VRC
 

Keith Jerome, MD, PhD
Profile | Lab



Steven Pergam, MD, MPH
Profile



Joshua Schiffer, MD MSc
Profile | Lab

Infectious Disease Sciences Staff Scientists

Martine Aubert, PhD
Profile | Lab
 

Sujatha Srinivasan, PhD
Profile | Lab
 

Dan Stone, PhD
Profile | Lab
 


Infectious Disease Sciences Program Administration

Phone: (206) 667-6702
Mailing Address:
IDS Program
1100 Fairview Ave. N. (E4-100)
Seattle, WA  98109

Program Head
Michael Boeckh
mboeckh@fredhutch.org

Chief Administrative Officer
Limei Fan
lfan@fredhutch.org

Associate Administrator
(Clinical Trials & Finance)
Jim Reith
jreith@fredhutch.org

 

Financial Manager
(Grants, Contracts & Finance)
Haiyan Ping
hping@fredhutch.org

Cindy Hirano
(IRB/Regulatory & Protocol Coordination)
chirano@fredhutch.org

Administrative Manager
(ID Clinical Services, Personnel & Lab Operations)
Shaila Austria
sduffy@fredhutch.org

Executive and Administrative Assistants to Faculty

Sue Bartlett (David Fredricks, MD & Steve Pergam, MD)
sbartlett@fredhutch.org

Mary Lamery (Keith Jerome, MD, PhD)
mlamery@fredhutch.org

Quynh-An Le (UW VRC: Anna Wald, MD)
quynhanl@uw.edu

Beth Minnich (Larry Corey, MD)
bminnich@fredhutch.org

Jun Sellers (Joshua Schiffer, MD, MSc)
jsellers@fredhutch.org

Lisa Wasberg   (Program Head: Michael Boeckh, MD)
lwasberg@fredhutch.org