Project Violet

Project Violet Team

Olson Lab

Our goal is to create a new class of drugs that effectively cures diseases that are currently considered incurable. We focus on diseases that are often ignored by the pharmaceutical industry, including rare diseases, childhood cancers and neurological diseases.

Leadership

Jim Olson

Jim Olson, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Project Violet

Dr. Jim Olson, a researcher and pediatric oncologist, is developing innovative approaches to improve treatment for patients with brain tumors. He has appointments at Fred Hutch, the University of Washington and Seattle Children's.

Scientific Profile | Featured Researcher

Jim reflects on the inspiraton for Project Violet:

"The day I met Violet and her parents, I first stood outside the door at the hospital and took some deep breaths. I swallowed hard, choked back some tears, and couldn’t go in. I took a walk around the hospital so that I could gather myself to be strong for them. I did not know what they looked like, whether I would be able to understand Violet’s speech, or how they would take the news. Over the past 22 years, I have faced the scenario too many times of walking into a room to meet a family, knowing that we would begin a journey that would last only part of a year.

I dream that before I retire, I will be able to walk into the room of a child with newly diagnosed brainstem glioma and tell them that there is hope for survival. I don’t care whether the advances come from our team or someone else — but I think we have the intellectual power, fortitude, strategic mindset and motivation to contend for the honor of finding a way to dampen the rage of this cancer."

 

Chris Mehlin

Chris Mehlin, Ph.D.
Director, Therapeutic Peptide Program

Dr. Chris Mehlin earned his doctorate in pathobiology in 1998 from the University of Washington, where he studied the body’s immune system response to infection and HIV biology. Before joining Fred Hutch, he was a principal scientist at Amgen in Seattle, where he led a team of researchers that developed the strategies and tools to identify promising new drug targets. He is an author on more than two dozen scientific manuscripts and has been named co-inventor on more than a dozen issued patents and applications of therapeutics, including four currently in the clinic. Mehlin is an expert in drug discovery: finding the molecules that treat and cure disease by interacting with the body’s cells and proteins. He brings to the optide team a wealth of knowledge gained from a career in academic and commercial biotechnology to develop and validate new drugs.

cmehlin@fredhutch.org | 206-667-4591

Colin Correnti

Colin Correnti, Ph.D.
Director, Protein Sciences   

Dr. Colin Correnti received his doctorate in 2011 from the Biological Physics, Structure and Design Program at the University of Washington. As a doctoral student, he studied protein structure determination and developed the Daedalus protein expression system currently employed to make optides. An avid researcher with more than a decade of experience at Fred Hutch and UW, he is ideally suited to engage the labs and core resources at both institutions.

ccorrent@fredhutch.org | 206-667-4172

Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Ashok Bandaranayake, Ph.D.

Director of Bioprocess Development
abandara@fredhutch.org
206-667-6355

Mi-Youn Brusniak

Mi-Youn Brusniak, Ph.D., PMP

Director of Optides Program Bioinformatics 
mbrusnia@fhcrc.org
206-667-7343

Matt Biery
Kellen Joyce 'Heart of a Warrior' Fellow
mbiery@fredhutch.org
206-667-2429



Karina Bloom

Project Coordinator
kbloom@fredhutch.org
206-667-4504

C, D

Jane Carter

Jane Carter

Optides Project Manager
jcarter2@fredhutch.org
206-667-4922

Michelle L Cook Sangar

Michelle L. Cook Sangar, Ph.D., DVM

Olson Lab Director of Pharmacology
mcooksan@fredhutch.org
206-667-4450

Albe Man Kid Chan

Albe Man Kid Chan
Research Technician
chanmankid@fredhutch.org
206-667-5942

Zachary Crook

Zachary Crook

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
zcrook@fredhutch.org
206-667-7694

Midori Clarke

Midori Clarke

Kismet Research Technician
mclarke@fredhutch.org
206-667-6778

Willem de van der Schueren

Willem de van der Schueren

Hannah's Hopeful Hearts Research Technician
wdevande@fredhutch.org
206-667-1948

 

 

F, G, H

Eric Ferguson
Graduate Research Fellow
eferguso@fredhutch.org
206-667-4029

Gene Hopping

Gene Hopping
Staff Scientist
ghopping@fredhutch.org
206-667-5942

Mesfin Gewe, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
mgewe@fredhutch.org
206-667-5588

Emily Girard

Emily Girard

Staff Scientist
egirard@fredhutch.org
206-667-7325

J, K, L

William Johnsen

William Johnsen

Research Technician
wjohnsen@fredhutch.org
206-667-7441

Sarah Leary

Sarah Leary, MD

Attending Physician, Cancer and Blood Disorders Center,
Seattle Children's
sarah.leary@seattlechildrens.org
206-987-2106

ida Lin
Research Technician
ilin2@fredhutch.org
206-667-5942

M, N, P

Morgan Merrill
Research Technician
mmerrill@fredhutch.org
206-667-3010
 

Carrie Myers

Carrie Myers
Research Technician
chmyers@fredhutch.org
206-667-4033

Shelli Morris

Shelli Morris, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
smmorris@fredhutch.org
206-667-7364
 

Eric Nealy
Graduate Research Fellow
enealy@fredhutch.org
206-667-2579

Andrew J. Mhyre

Andrew J. Mhyre, Ph.D.

Director of Therapeutic Discovery
amhyre@fredhutch.org
206-667-3047

Kristina Pilat

Kristina Pilat

Sarah Hughes Foundation Research Technician
kpilat@fredhutch.org
206-667-5588

R, S, T

Raymond Ruff
Research Technician
ruff@fredhutch.org
206-667-6984

Ryan Steele

Ryan Steele

Kismet Research Technician
rsteele@fredhutch.org
206-667-5827

Gregory Sevilla

Gregory Sevilla
Research Technician
gsevilla@fredhutch.org
206-667-5942

Andy Strand

Andy Strand, Ph.D.

Staff Scientist
astrand@fredhutch.org
206-667-5681

 

Theo Sottero

Theo Sottero

Capetola Graduate Research Fellow
tsottero@fredhutch.org

Shanon Turnbaugh

Shanon Turnbaugh

Research Technician
sturnbau@fredhutch.org
206-667-2876

W, Y

Alex Watson

Alex Watson

Research Technician
awwatson@fredutch.org
206-667-5981

Chunfeng Yin
Research Technician
cyin@fredhutch.org
206-667-5942

Madison Wise

Madison Wise

Research Technician
mwise@fredhutch.org
206-667-6040

Connor Wojciak
Program Assistant
cwojciak@fredhutch.org
206-667-5737