2019 Keynote Guest - Jim Abbott

Hutch Award Luncheon


2019 Keynote Guest

Jim Abbott

Jim Abbott was born September 19, 1967, in Flint, Michigan without a right hand. He was an All-America hurler at the University of Michigan, won the James E. Sullivan Award in 1987, and was the pitcher for the gold medal-winning U.S. men’s Olympic baseball team in 1988. In September 1993, he threw a 4-0 no-hitter for the New York Yankees versus Cleveland. Jim played for 10 seasons on 4 different teams and ended his big-league playing career in 1999.

Jim Abbott

Jim Abbott, Keynote Guest

For Jim, no obstacle is too big to overcome. In 1995, he was the winner of the Hutch Award.

In addition to his baseball legacy, Jim has worked with the U.S. Department of Labor's Office of Disability Employment Policy on several initiatives that encourage businesses to hire people with disabilities.

Today, in addition to serving as a guest pitching instructor during spring training for the Los Angeles Angels, Jim is a motivational speaker. His story has been featured in Time and Sports Illustrated; and he has appeared on ESPN, Good Morning America, and CNN. In October 2018, a new documentary on his inspiring life, “Set Apart: The Jim Abbott Story” premiered on FOX.

Today, Jim lives in California with his wife and two children and their dog. They still spend their summers in Michigan with Jim’s parents, visiting family and friends and enjoying the lakes.

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center is honored to welcome Jim Abbott as our keynote guest for the 2019 Hutch Award Luncheon.